ICC to hold back-to-back World T20 events instead of Champions Trophy in 2021

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced the decision to hold an additional ICC World T20 event in place of the Champions Trophy in 2021.

The back-to-back editions of the World Twenty20 will be held in 2020 and 2021 in Australia and India, respectively.

The ICC members have signed off a new Future Tours Programme (FTP) for 2019-2023 that incorporates these changes.

“This provides opportunities for 16 teams to compete at a global level with a sub-regional, regional and global qualification process every two years, giving more regular cricket to more members,” read a statement issued by the governing body.

“We are committed to growing the game and T20 is the vehicle through which we’ll do this,” said ICC Chief Executive David Richardson.

The ICC Board also gave green light to all Twenty20 matches between Members being awarded international status along with plans to introduce global rankings in the format.

The final structure of the FTP (19-23), which received unanimous backing, includes the following:

ICC Cricket World Cup — 2019, 2023
ICC World T20 — 2020, 2021
ICC World Test Championship Final — 2021, 2023
World Test Championship
Cycle 1 — 2019-2021
Cycle 2 — 2021-2023
ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification League — 2020-2022
All bilateral Tests, ODIs and T20Is outside of the above competitions



You might also like